1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Nigeria At 55: Senate Hails Nigerians

The Senate today has hailed the resilience of Nigerians today on the occasion of her 55th nigeria at 55 2Independence anniversary.

In a motion: Congratulations to Nigeria on her 55th Independence Anniversary as moved by the Deputy senate leader, the senate notes that on Thursday, 1st October, 2015, Nigeria will mark her 55th Independence Anniversary having attained Independence from Britain on October 1, 1960.

Appreciates that from May 29, 1999 till date, Nigeria at 55 has had the longest reign of democratic government in her political history;

Aware that while we may have had our challenges as a nation, we are moving forward as one nation indivisible in character and aspiration;

Acknowledges that we have a task to ensure that the labors of those who made this independence possible and those who work tirelessly to keep us united will not be in vain;

Agree that while we have come this far, our vision of the future must be kept bright with hard work and dedication;

Remember our heroes of independence and democracy, those whose blood and sweat got us this far and celebrate them even today; and

Charge ourselves to continue to demonstrate commitment to our unity and oneness as a nation of free citizens.       

After the debate, the senate resolved to congratulate the President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federation, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, the Government and people of Nigeria on the 55th Independence Anniversary of Nigeria while observing a minute silence in honor of Nigeria’s past heroes and urged the Federal Government that the 55th Independence Anniversary Celebration should be low key in view of the tragedies in Saudi Arabia.

Earlier, the senate President announced that he had received a letter from the South-West caucus of the All Progressive Congress (APC) nominating Senator Olusola Adeyeye (Osun Central) as the Chief Whip of the senate.

The Senate President referred public petitions from Senator Mao Ohuabunwa and Senator Gil Nnaji to the public petitions committee.

Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees

Published on: 2015-10-14 00:05:45 Hits : 13655
Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees No filibustering Final list released Screening continues Contrary to expectation today, the Nigerian Senate has cleared all Ministerial nominees with no filibustering. They are Mr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Osagie Ehanire, Am...


Senate News

Plenary Reports

NEITI Audit Report: Senate Tasks Executive to Recover Unremitted Funds…

13 Bills to be Reviewed as Senate Commences Constitutional Amendment…

Environmental Health Officers Bill Passed…

Senate Intervenes to save Local Governments…

Senate Mourns Late Oba of Benin, Deceased Ekiti Medical Doctors…

Senate Seeks to Revamp Rail Transport by NRC Amendment Bill…

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

The Senate | Federal Republic of Nigeria | National Assembly Complex | Three Arms Zone, PMB 141, Abuja | Nigeria