1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Senate Committee on FCT Orders Demolition of Ex-President Jonathan’s House

  • 28 Others Inclusivefct budget

The adherence to the Abuja Master plan became re-enacted today as the senate Committee on the Federal Capital Territory in Abuja decried the misapplication and misappropriation of the Maitama Hills, a green area for residential buildings.

Senator Dino Melaye, Chairman of the Committee accused the former FCT Minister, Mr. Bala Mohammed for arbitrary and indiscriminate allocation of government lands to cronies at expense of the common people.

Senator Dino Melaye said according to information at his disposal, other beneficiaries of the green area include former Petroleum Minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke, the former CJN and minister of Justice, Mr. Mohammed Adoke, PDP chieftain Prince Uche Secondus, former President Goodluck Jonathan among others.

He however suspended work on the site and mulled restoration of the green area to status quo which may involve demolition.

Similarly, the FCT minister, Alhaji Muhammed Bello agreed with the senate committee on its resolution saying it was ‘apt’ during his budget defence.

The minister said paucity of funds remains the reason for abandoned projects in the FCT.

Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees

Published on: 2015-10-14 00:05:45 Hits : 13653
Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees No filibustering Final list released Screening continues Contrary to expectation today, the Nigerian Senate has cleared all Ministerial nominees with no filibustering. They are Mr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Osagie Ehanire, Am...


Senate News

Plenary Reports

NEITI Audit Report: Senate Tasks Executive to Recover Unremitted Funds…

13 Bills to be Reviewed as Senate Commences Constitutional Amendment…

Environmental Health Officers Bill Passed…

Senate Intervenes to save Local Governments…

Senate Mourns Late Oba of Benin, Deceased Ekiti Medical Doctors…

Senate Seeks to Revamp Rail Transport by NRC Amendment Bill…

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

The Senate | Federal Republic of Nigeria | National Assembly Complex | Three Arms Zone, PMB 141, Abuja | Nigeria