1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Saraki Emerges Senate President

In what appears to be a coup d'etat, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki has emerged the President of the 8th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. In a contest that has been so rancourous and divisive between senator Ahmed lawan and senator Abubaker Bukola Saraki and their supporters, Nigerians were treated to political drama which many have adduced to the inability of the All progressives congress (APC), to put its house in order as their first test of political capacity have been put to question. saraki bukola

Like a movie, the APC had summoned its Senators and House of Representatives members to the International Conference Centre, ICC, Abuja as a last ditch effort to mend fences between both camps preparatory to the election of the leadership of the National Assembly which saw Senator Ahmed lawan and his group in attendance but was shunned by the Saraki group. However, with the proclamation of the 8th National Assembly by the President Muhammadu Buhari with the scheduled time of 10am for the inauguration, the Saraki group struck a deal with senators of the Peoples Democratic Party to have Ekweremadu serve as the Deputy senate President in exchage for support to represent their interest having formed quorum as Salisu Maikasuwa, Clerk to the National Assembly stated having read the president's proclamation letter. 

Saraki was elected unopposed to emerge Senate President the 13th president of the senate as Ike Ekweremadu floored Senator Ali Ndume to emerge Deputy Senate President.

It is recalled that in 2011, similar scenario happened when Aminu Waziri Tambuwal emerged Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively against party candiate, Mulikat Akande Adeola which signposted the disintergration of the Peoples Democratic party as Aminu Tambuwal was to later dump the PDP for the APC.

This time, 'senators of like mind', which is the Saraki group, laid claims of majority support of membership which was countered by the Lawan group. It climaxed last saturday at a straw election organised by the party which  saw Ahmed lawan emerge as party sole candidiate for the senate presidency with senator George Akume, former minority leader as his Deputy which the Saraki group described as a sham which must be resisted.

The PDP had promised it will never support party candidiate because of what it claimed to be protection of the independence of the legislature.

President Muhammadu Buhari had exonerated himself of allegation of preferred candidiate and pledged to work with anyone.

Senator Ahmed lawan hails from Yobe state, north east Nigeria while Bukola Saraki hails from Kwara state, north central. Ike Ekweremadu who was the immediate past Deputy senate president in the 7th senate hails from Enugu state, south east Nigeria

Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees

Published on: 2015-10-14 00:05:45 Hits : 13671
Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees No filibustering Final list released Screening continues Contrary to expectation today, the Nigerian Senate has cleared all Ministerial nominees with no filibustering. They are Mr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Osagie Ehanire, Am...


Senate News

Plenary Reports

NEITI Audit Report: Senate Tasks Executive to Recover Unremitted Funds…

13 Bills to be Reviewed as Senate Commences Constitutional Amendment…

Environmental Health Officers Bill Passed…

Senate Intervenes to save Local Governments…

Senate Mourns Late Oba of Benin, Deceased Ekiti Medical Doctors…

Senate Seeks to Revamp Rail Transport by NRC Amendment Bill…

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

The Senate | Federal Republic of Nigeria | National Assembly Complex | Three Arms Zone, PMB 141, Abuja | Nigeria