1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Senate frowns at resumption of Executive nominees before confirmation

The trend where unconfirmed executives (nominees) of Heads of Ministries, Departments and Agencies of senate frowns exec nomineesGovernment resume duty before confirmation by the Senate may have been stopped today following the Senate President Senator Bukola Saraki’s displeasure over the matter during plenary today Thursday 26th November 2015. He made this known during the confirmation of the former Vice Chancellor of Kano State University of Technology, Engr Professor Umaru Garba Dambatta as the Executive Vice Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) and called on the executive to ensure the that nominees comply with the law.

Professor Dambatta, who was appointed as the acting CEO of the NCC by President Muhammadu Buhari on August 4th 2015, had been a lecturer in Telecommunications Engineering and Electronics at Electrical Engineering for 28 years and was subsequently the Vice President of the Digital Bridge Institute (DBI), an affillate of the NCC charged with capacity building for the Nigerian and African Telecommunications industry in diverse areas of Information and Communication Technology.

Saraki, while describing Professor Dambatta as a ‘good candidate’ for the job, following a report presented to him by the Senate Committee on Communications chaired by Senator Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu East), re-emphasized the observance of the practice of resumption by appointees only after he or she had been thoroughly screened and confirmed by the Senate.

The Senate also confirmed the appointment of Ahmed Lawan Kuru as the Managing Director of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON). In a report submitted by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions, three other candidates were also screened for the posts of Executive Director of AMCON and subsequently confirmed. The 3 new Executive Directors of AMCON are Kola Ayeye, Eberechukwu Fortunate Uneze and Aminu Ismail.

Meanwhile 8 Senate committees were inaugurated by the Senate President on Thursday. The committees include the Senate Committees on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Ecology and Climate Change, Environment, Drugs and Narcotics, National Identity and National Population, Public Procurements, Solid Minerals and Local and Foreign Debts.

The inauguration ceremony which had in attendance the Honourable Minister of Solid Minerals, Dr Kayode Fayemi and top officials of various strata of the Nigerian judiciary subsequently brought an end to the inauguration of all the Senate committees over the last few days as these were the final committees to be inducted.

The Senate Committees, chairmen and vice chairmen are listed below:


  Senate Committee Chairman Vice Chairman
1 Judiciary, Human Rights & Legal Matters David Umaru Godswill Akpabio
2 Ecology & Climate Change Bukar Abba Ibrahim Achonu Nneji
3 Environment Olaka Johnson Nwogu Oluremi Tinubu
4 Drugs & Narcotics Joshua Lidani Philip Gyunka
5 National Identity & Population Marafa Kabir Abubakar Sani Danladi
6 Public Procurements Abdulsalami Ohiare Joshua Dariye
7 Solid Minerals  Joshua Dariye Rilwan Adesoji
  Local & Foreign Debts Shehu Sani Philip Gyunka




Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees

Published on: 2015-10-14 00:05:45 Hits : 13671
Senate Clears Ministerial Nominees No filibustering Final list released Screening continues Contrary to expectation today, the Nigerian Senate has cleared all Ministerial nominees with no filibustering. They are Mr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Osagie Ehanire, Am...


Senate News

Plenary Reports

NEITI Audit Report: Senate Tasks Executive to Recover Unremitted Funds…

13 Bills to be Reviewed as Senate Commences Constitutional Amendment…

Environmental Health Officers Bill Passed…

Senate Intervenes to save Local Governments…

Senate Mourns Late Oba of Benin, Deceased Ekiti Medical Doctors…

Senate Seeks to Revamp Rail Transport by NRC Amendment Bill…

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

The Senate | Federal Republic of Nigeria | National Assembly Complex | Three Arms Zone, PMB 141, Abuja | Nigeria